Panthers name Award Winners

1-Varsity Team

Edgemont Wrestling is proud to announce its 2014-2015 Post-Season Team Award winners! In addition to the MVP and Coaches’ Award sponsored by the E-Club, Edgemont Wrestling annually presents these awards at our Post-Season Wrestling Banquet.

Here’s a quick description of our team awards.

Sean Ross Award – Named after wrestling Class of 2006 alumni and current coach, Sean Ross. This award is given to the Ultimate Teammate – always supportive and always doing whatever he can to help the team – qualities that Sean always exemplified as an athlete.

Captains’ Award – Chosen by the current captains, this award is given to the most dedicated, hardest-working freshman or sophomore during the past season

Eric Kantor Award – Named after Edgemont’s first-ever wrestling coach and long-time program supporter, Eric Kantor. The award is given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the qualities of good sportsmanship at all times throughout the season.

George DiChiara Award – Named after Edgemont’s longest-tenured Head Coach, George DiChiara. This award is given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies the characteristics Coach DiChiara strived to teach on a daily basis – Class, Character and Competition.

David Rice Award – Named after wrestling Class of 2008 alumni, David Rice. Dave went from a barely .500 record his junior year to Section Champion, Sectionals Most Outstanding Wrestler and All-State his senior year. This award is given to the wrestler who has shown the most improvement since his last season.

Panther Award – Given to the wrestler who best demonstrates an ability to overcome adversity with mental toughness and resiliency.

And here are this year’s winners:

MVP – Cliffton Wang ’17
wang DSC_0627







Coaches’ Award – Brian Evans ’15
Evans DSC_0612






Academic Award – Cliffton Wang ’17
Cliffton Wang








Sean Ross Award – James Hammond ’15
Hammond DSC_0611









Captains’ Award – Georgie Guarnieri ’18
Guarnieri DSC_0653







Eric Kantor Award – Kyle Aslanian ’16








George DiChiara Award – Max Worobow ’16

Woroboow DSC_0619








David Rice Award – Sam Charnizon ’15







Panther Award – Andy Williams ’17


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *